Relativity's Davies to receive ShowEast Humanitarian Award


Kyle Davies, Relativity Media’s president of worldwide distribution, will receive the 2013 Salah M. Hassanein Humanitarian Award during the ShowEast Convention’s final night banquet and awards ceremony on Oct. 24 at the Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa in Hollywood, Florida.

The Salah M. Hassanein Humanitarian Award was established in 1987 and is presented each year to a leader in the industry who has distinguished him or herself in the philanthropic community.

“Kyle has been at the forefront in supporting humanitarian and charitable organizations both within and outside the cinema exhibition and distribution communities and we are pleased to honor him with this prestigious award,” stated Robert Sunshine, managing director of the annual convention.

Davies has served in his current role at Relativity Media since 2011 and has been instrumental in the company’s evolution from a financing and producing entity into a full-fledged studio. His responsibilities include oversight of the overall distribution strategies for all movies produced and acquired by Relativity. Relativity releases that Davies has supervised include Safe Haven, Mirror Mirror, Act of Valor, Immortals and Limitless.

Davies was named president of theatrical distribution in 2010, after Relativity acquired Overture Films’ marketing and distribution assets. He previously served as executive VP of theatrical distribution for Overture, where he handled the distribution of such titles as Law Abiding Citizen, Brooklyn’s Finest, The Crazies and The Visitor.

Prior to joining Overture, Davies was senior VP, distribution, at Paramount Pictures, where he worked on releases including Mission: Impossible III and Over the Hedge. He joined Paramount following its purchase of DreamWorks, where he served as senior VP, distribution, and was involved in such releases as Dreamgirls, Gladiator, Saving Private Ryan, American Beauty, Shrek and Shrek II.

Davies began his entertainment career working for major theatre chains including National Amusements and General Cinema. A member of the executive committee of the Will Rogers Motion Picture Pioneers Foundation, he is also a member and supporter of the Motion Picture Club Foundation and a supporter of the National Multiple Sclerosis Society.

Previous Salah M. Hassanein Humanitarian Award recipients include Richard Fay, Kurt Hall, Todd Vradenburg, Sonny Gourley, Clark Woods, Shari E. Redstone, John Lundin, Jeff Goldstein, Erik Lomis, Peter Brown, Travis Reid, Barrie Loeks, Tom Sherak, Daniel Crown, Allen Karp, Stanley Durwood, Carl Patrick, Lee Roy and Tandy Mitchell.