IFP announces projects selected for Screen Forward Labs

Movies News

The Independent Filmmaker Project (IFP) announced today the projects selected for the third annual Screen Forward Labs, IFP’s yearlong fellowship for content creators with story-driven, serialized projects. The program kicks off today, running April 24-28 at the Made in NY Media Center by IFP located in DUMBO, Brooklyn. 

Under the leadership of IFP head of programming Amy Dotson and producer Gabriele Capolino, the Labs will provide ten select creators with the knowledge, resources and mentor support necessary for developing strong pitches, securing financing to go from pilot to series, creating marketing strategies and finding unique avenues for the distribution of their work. Individualized attention for each project will also be paid to building engaged audiences, as well as long-term strategy for career sustainability and launch.

“We are thrilled that IFP’s mission to support risk-taking creators now extends to episodic storytelling,” says Joana Vicente, IFP’s executive director. “With over 70% diverse voices represented in this year’s slate, we look forward to sharing these incredible series with industry leaders who can help further amplify their bold and provocative works.”

This year’s projects include Lukas Hoffman’s Aeris, Michael Tucker’s Anamnesis, Dahéli Hall and Angie Browne’s Angry Black Women, Jeffrey Simon’s Camp Abercorn, Tess Sweet’s Cleaner Daze, Jared Goodman’s The Gentrifiers, Sophie Webb’s Same Sex and Nick Borenstein’s Trip.

During its 39-year history, IFP has supported over 10,000 projects and offered resources to more than 20,000 artists working at the intersection of film, television, VR and new media. The organization has played a vital role in launching the careers of now-established directors including Derek Cianfrance (Blue Valentine)), Robert Eggers (The Witch), Ciro Guerrra (Embrace of the Serpent), Alex Karpovsky (“Girls”), Barry Jenkins (Moonlight), David Lowery (Pete’s Dragon), Laura Poitras (Citizen Four), Dee Rees (Mudbound), Amy Seimetz (The Girlfriend Experience), Denis Villeneuve (Sicario), Roger Ross Williams (Life, Animated), and Behn Zeitlin (Beasts of the Southern Wild).

IFP via Filmmaker Magazine-produced “25 New Faces of Independent Film” were also early champions of a roster of creators who have gone on to make their mark in the creative community and popular culture including Cam Archer, Antonio Campos, Ryan Coogler, Lena Dunham, Shana Feste, Cary Fukunaga, Rachel Grady and Heidi Ewing, Patty Jenkins, Casey Neistat, Matt Porterfield, The Safdie Brothers, Sebastian Silva and Craig Zobel.