NATO of Calif./Nevada announces $330,000 in scholarship awards


The National Association of Theatre Owners of California/Nevada announced the 2012 winners of its annual scholarship programs, with awards totaling $330,000.

In support of graduate film students, the Association awarded $40,000 each to the film schools at UCLA and USC to be divided among six deserving students at The UCLA School of Theater Film and Television, and five deserving students at the USC School of Cinema and Television.

“We take great pleasure in helping to encourage and support the next generation of filmmakers,” stated Milton Moritz, president and CEO, NATO of California/Nevada. “They are our lifeblood and partners in our future, and we congratulate them all.”

At UCLA, Fellowships in Film are being awarded to Brynach Day and Richard Parkin in Production/Directing; Dana Gills, Producers Program; Ben Kopit and Amy Michalik, Screenwriting; and Emezie Okorafor, Animation.

At USC, through the Fund for Student Support, awards are being presented to Joshua Berman in the Peter Stark Producing Program; Joseph Yeh in the John C. Hench Division of Animation and Digital Arts; Jeremy Masys in the Division of Writing for Screen and Television; and Emily Ferenbach and Victoria Rose in Film and Television Production.

The Association is also awarding 25 individual $10,000 college scholarships through an annual contest open to field-level employees of member theatres. All entrants must have maintained a minimum 3.0 grade-point average, submitted an essay to be judged, and satisfied other eligibility requirements. The competition is also open to spouses and dependent children of management-level employees and home-office staff.

The scholarship recipients are:
Christina Cortese, Cinemark's Century Redwood 20 Downtown
Jaime Dao, Regal Holiday 6 Theatre
Anna Edwards, Tristone Cinemas' Terra Vista 6 Theatre
Candice Evenson, Cinema West, Livermore 13 Cinemas
Zachary Ficke, REG Edwards Aliso Viejo 20 + IMAX
Jose Gallegos, Landmark's The Landmark
Rachel Hastert, Sierra Cinemas' Sutton Cinemas
Cassandra Havens Rave Brentwood 14 Theatre, dependent
Matthew Hulley, REG Edwards Aliso Viejo 20 + IMAX
Katarina Lovric, Cinemark's Century 25 Union Landing
Jeff Carl Luerman, UltraStar's Galaxy 6 Theatre
Travis Marker, Fallon Theatres
Vivian Martin, AMC Orange 30 Theatre
Emilio Merino, Muvico 14 Thousand Oaks
Kevin Monson, REG Edwards San Marcos 18 Theatre
Parisa Movahedi, REG Edwards Calabasas Stadium 6
Crystal Powell, Fallon Theatres
Claudia Reyes, Landmark's The Landmark
Rene Rusconi, Regal Laguna Village 12 Theatre
Felipe Sepulveda, REG Edwards Garden Grove Stadium 16
Cyrena Shirley, Regal's Palms Springs 9 Theatre
Nicholas Stalder, Coming Attractions Mt. Shasta Cinema
Jonathan Tavasti, Pacific's Lakewood Center 16 Theatre
Kathleen Thornber, Ultrastar Mission Valley
Jessica Wong, Syufy Enterprises Corporate, dependent

“We’re very pleased that we are able to help ease the financial burden for all of these students, some of whom may have felt that college might otherwise have been beyond their reach,” added Moritz.