CineAsia to honor filmmaker and exhibitor See Yuen Ng


Director, producer and movie cineplex owner See Yuen Ng will receive the “Award of Achievement for Services to the Motion Picture Industry” at the CineAsia 2012 Awards Luncheon on Dec. 13 at the Grand Hyatt Hong Kong.

“Mr. Ng is a multi-talented and accomplished filmmaker who has broken ground in all aspects of the moviemaking business and is extremely deserving of this award,” noted Robert H. Sunshine, managing director of the annual convention.

Hailed as one of Hong Kong’s most innovative filmmakers, See Yuen Ng started his career in the film industry in 1967. In 1973, he founded the Seasonal Film Corporation and became a successful director with a string of box-office hits starting with his directorial debut, Anti-corruption, at age 26. He was the pioneer of popular movie genres such as kung ku and lawsuit movies. Other successes include Drunken Master, Snake in the Eagle’s Shadow, The Unwritten Law and All for the Winner. Over the years, Ng has produced over 40 local films and seven American martial-arts movies. His production No Retreat, No Surrender was credited with starting the golden age of martial-arts films in Hollywood.

Ng is also one of the pioneers in co-producing films in Mainland China. The Dragon Inn, Once Upon a Time In China III and The Soong Sisters are some of his successful co-productions. Famous names who worked with Ng early in their careers include Jackie Chan, Jean Claude Van Damme, Corey Yuen, Yuen Woo Ping and Tsui Hark.

Ng is the honorary permanent president of the Hong Kong Film Directors Guild and the chairman of the Federation of Hong Kong Filmmakers. He is also a member of the Film Development Council. In recognition of his achievements, Ng was decorated with a “Bronze Bauhinia Star” in 1998 and was appointed Justice of the Peace in 2001.

Since 2002, Ng has been running his own group of successful cineplexes in the main cities of China under the brand name of UME. The circuit comprises 16 cineplexes situated in Beijing, Chongqing, Shanghai, Hangzhou, Guangzhou, Chengdu, Nanjing, Nantong, and Jiaxing with a total of 210 screens.